top of page
Corey-Haim-07-06-2023 (5).png
loving memory
Corey Haim

Corey Haim is a Canadian actor and producer, born December 23, 1971 in Toronto (Ontario) and died March 10, 2010 in Burbank (California).

He became a star in his teens, notably in the films Lucas and Lost Generation. His career declined in the 1990s, while his private life was affected by his use of narcotics. From 2007 to 2008, he appeared in a reality show alongside another former child actor, Corey Feldman.

Youth

Corey Ian Haim was born on December 23, 1971 in Toronto, Ontario (Canada). Her mother, Judy, is an Israeli-born computer operator and her father, Bernie Haim, a salesperson. His mother enrolls him in an acting class so he can overcome his shyness. Not being particularly motivated by acting, he practices ice hockey, plays music on his keyboard or collects comics.

 

Career

First Successes

In 1982, Corey Haim began his career, appearing in the television series Paul and the Twins (The Edison Twins), until 1986.

In 1984, he made his first appearance on the big screen in the thriller Firstborn, which also starred Sarah Jessica Parker and Robert Downey Jr..

In 1985, he appeared in a minor role in Secret Admirer and Murphy's Romance. The same year, he played the main role in the feature film Peur bleue (Silver Bullet), adapted from the short story by Stephen King, where he played a paraplegic alongside Gary Busey. He began to make a name for himself in the film industry by winning his first Young Artist Award for his role in the television movie A Time to Live.

In 1986, he landed his biggest role, alongside Kerri Green, Charlie Sheen and Winona Ryder, in the film Lucas. For this role, he received a Best Performance in a Feature Film nomination at the Young Artist Award. Film critic Roger Ebert gives it good reviews.

In 1987, after the success of Lucas, he starred in the television series Roomies.

Late 1980's

In 1987, Corey Haim played a role in the vampire film Generation Lost (The Lost Boys) by Joel Schumacher, alongside Jason Patric and Kiefer Sutherland. The film was well received by critics. In addition to increasing his fame, the film marks the beginning of the famous collaboration with Corey Feldman. His performance earned him another Young Artist Award nomination in the category of "Best Young Male Superstar in a Motion Picture".

In 1988, he starred in two more widely released films: Full Pot (License to Drive), a teen comedy that was a commercial success, with co-actor Corey Feldman and young actress Heather Graham, and the film Horror Watchers, based on the short story by Dean Koontz. He won his second Young Artist Award, beating Feldman in the category "Best Young Actor in a Motion Picture Comedy or Fantasy" for License to Drive.

In 1989, the two Coreys became popular for their collaboration after two successful films: they reformed in the film Dream a Little Dream. The single Rock On (en), Michael Damian's version, went to number one on the Billboard Hot 100. The two Coreys appeared in the music video taken from the single. That same year, Corey Haim made a self-promotional video titled Corey Haim: Me, Myself, and I. In the video, he is seen taking part in family activities and discussing his career and ambitions.

1990's

In 1990, after Corey Haim: Me, Myself, and I, Corey Haim made his first video, The Dream Machine. He plays, with Patricia Arquette, in Prayer of the Rollerboys. He continues to play in video films such as Belle et Dangereuse (in which Feldman also plays), The Double 0 Kid (alongside Brigitte Nielsen) and Oh, What a Night.

In 1993, he starred in a video game titled Double Switch, produced for the Mega-CD and later for the Sega Saturn, and for PC. Over the next two years, Haim licensed sequels to two of his older films: in 1994, Fast Getaway II was released alongside National Lampoon's Last Resort. The following year released Life 101 and another sequel Dream a Little Dream 2, in which he starred with Feldman.

In 1996, he played in four video films: Snowboard Academy (where he reunited with Brigitte Nielsen), Busted with Corey Feldman, Demolition High, and Fever Lake. He plays a minor role in the television version of Merlin. After directing Never Too Late and the sequel to Demolition High, Demolition University (for which he is also the producer), he went bankrupt in 1997.

2000's

In 2000, Corey Haim attempted a comeback in the film industry with another video film Without Malice, with Jennifer Beals and Craig Sheffer. He spends time in detox: “I started with tranquilizers, because I was a ball of nerves. But one leads to two, two to four, four to eight, until I finally took 85 a day — the doctors couldn't believe I took that many. And again, it was just for the Valium — I didn't talk about the other pills I was swallowing”.

In 2001, he appeared in The Backlot Murders alongside Priscilla Barnes. He becomes the subject of E! True Hollywood Story. He made a cameo in Dickie Roberts: ex-child star, a film about a child actor who did not have a normal childhood, he distinguished several child stars, including Corey Feldman.

In 2002, he played himself in an episode of the Canadian television series Le Loup-garou du campus.

In 2004, he seems to have overcome his drug problem after moving to Toronto. In response to an investigation by The Sun newspaper into what had really happened to him: "I am clean, sober, humble and happy".

In 2006, he was ranked as the eighth biggest teen star on VH1.

Back to Reality TV

On December 4, 2006, Corey Haim began recording a reality show, titled The Two Coreys, which he co-starred with Corey Feldman. The show first aired on A&E Network on July 29, 2007. The two Coreys signed on for a second season, which began airing June 22, 2008. He was nominated for the Viewers' Choice Award at the Annual Gemini Awards in Canada for his role in The Two Coreys. He is eighth in the "favorite Canadian" category in a TV series (not eligible for a Gemini) for his role in the A&E show.

On February 7, 2008, he paid for an ad in Variety magazine, saying, "It's not a joke. I'm back. I am ready to work. I am ready to make amends”. The same month, we [Who?] started filming some scenes of Lost Generation 2 (Lost Boys: The Tribe) to include him, reprising his role as Sam Emerson. He reconsiders his decision not to appear in a sequel. He does not appear in the Lost Generation 2 storyline until the end credits. His appearances are visible only in the "deleted scenes" of the DVD.

Before the future of The Two Coreys is known, Corey Feldman declares that he refuses to have any further contact with Corey Haim until the latter has rid himself of his addiction to drugs. A&E decided against a third season and ended the show in July 2008.

In 2009, he appeared in the action film Hyper Tension 2 (Crank 2: High Voltage) by Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor.

Corey Haim

Death

On March 10, 2010, at the age of 38, Corey Haim died in Burbank.

According to Szilva Vecserdy, the media made unfair and false comments about the actor. He didn't die of an overdose, but of pneumonia and an enlarged heart. According to Corey Feldman, his friend's drug addiction was due to child molestation he suffered as a child.

bottom of page

top of page
Corey-Haim-07-06-2023 (5).png
loving memory
Corey Haim

Corey Haim est un acteur et producteur canadien, né le 23 décembre 1971 à Toronto (Ontario) et mort le 10 mars 2010 à Burbank (Californie).

Devenu une vedette dans son adolescence, il joue notamment dans les films Lucas et Génération perdue. Sa carrière décline dans les années 1990, tandis que sa vie privée est affectée par son usage de stupéfiants. De 2007 à 2008, il apparaît dans une émission de téléréalité aux côtés d'un autre ancien enfant acteur, Corey Feldman.

Jeunesse

Corey Ian Haim naît le 23 décembre 1971 à Toronto, en Ontario (Canada). Sa mère, Judy, est une opératrice en informatique d'origine israélienne et son père, Bernie Haim, un commercial. Sa mère l'inscrit dans un cours d'acteur afin qu'il puisse surmonter sa timidité. N'étant pas particulièrement motivé par le métier d'acteur, il pratique le hockey sur glace, joue de la musique sur son clavier ou collectionne des comics.

 

Carrière

Premiers Succès

En 1982, Corey Haim commence sa carrière, en apparaissant dans la série télévisée Paul et les Jumeaux (The Edison Twins), jusqu’en 1986.

En 1984, il fait sa première apparition au grand écran dans le thriller Firstborn, dans lequel jouent aussi Sarah Jessica Parker et Robert Downey Jr..

En 1985, il apparaît dans un rôle mineur dans Secret Admirer et Murphy's Romance. La même année, il joue le rôle principal dans le long métrage Peur bleue (Silver Bullet), adapté de la nouvelle de Stephen King, où il joue un paraplégique au côté de Gary Busey. Il commence à se faire un nom par lui-même dans l'industrie du cinéma en gagnant son premier Young Artist Award pour son rôle dans le téléfilm A Time to Live.

En 1986, il décroche son plus grand rôle, aux côtés de Kerri Green, Charlie Sheen et Winona Ryder, dans le film Lucas. Pour ce rôle, il reçoit une nomination de la meilleure performance dans un long métrage au Young Artist Award. Le critique de cinéma Roger Ebert lui donne de bonnes critiques.

En 1987, après le succès de Lucas, il joue dans la série télévisée Roomies.

Fin des Années 1980

En 1987, Corey Haim joue un rôle dans le film de vampires Génération perdue (The Lost Boys) de Joel Schumacher, aux côtés de Jason Patric et de Kiefer Sutherland. Le film fut bien accueilli par les critiques. En plus d'augmenter sa renommée, le film marque le début de la fameuse collaboration avec Corey Feldman. Sa performance lui vaut une autre nomination au Young Artist Award dans la catégorie du « Best Young Male Superstar in a Motion Picture ».

En 1988, il joue dans deux films plus largement diffusés : Plein pot (License to Drive), une comédie pour adolescents qui est un succès commercial, avec comme co-acteur Corey Feldman ainsi que la jeune actrice Heather Graham, et le film d'horreur Watchers, basé sur la nouvelle de Dean Koontz. Il gagne son second Young Artist Award, devançant Feldman dans la catégorie « Best Young Actor in a Motion Picture Comedy or Fantasy » pour License to Drive.

En 1989, les deux Corey deviennent populaires pour leur collaboration après deux films à succès : ils se reforment dans le film Dream a Little Dream. Le single Rock On (en), version de Michael Damian, devient numéro un au Billboard Hot 100. Les deux Corey apparaissent dans le clip vidéo tiré du single. La même année, Corey Haim réalise une vidéo auto promotionnelle intitulée Corey Haim: Me, Myself, and I. Dans la vidéo, il se montre prenant part aux activités familiales et discutant de sa carrière et de ses ambitions.

Années 1990

En 1990, après Corey Haim: Me, Myself, and I, Corey Haim réalise son premier vidéofilm The Dream Machine. Il joue, avec Patricia Arquette, dans Prayer of the Rollerboys. Il continue de jouer dans des vidéofilms tel que Belle et Dangereuse (dans lequel joue également Feldman), The Double 0 Kid (aux côtés de Brigitte Nielsen) et Oh, What a Night.

En 1993, il joue pour un jeu vidéo intitulé Double Switch, produit pour la Mega-CD et plus tard pour la Saturn de Sega, et pour PC. Au cours des deux années suivantes, Haim autorise la réalisation de suites pour deux de ses anciens films : en 1994 sort Fast Getaway II en même temps que National Lampoon's Last Resort. L'année suivante sort Life 101 et une autre suite Dream a Little Dream 2, dans lequel il joue avec Feldman.

En 1996, il joue dans quatre vidéofilms : Snowboard Academy (où il retrouve Brigitte Nielsen), Busted avec Corey Feldman, Demolition High, et Fever Lake. Il joue un rôle mineur dans la version télévisuelle de Merlin. Après avoir réalisé Never Too Late et la suite de Demolition High, Demolition University (pour lequel il est également le producteur), il fait banqueroute en 1997.

Années 2000

En 2000, Corey Haim tente un retour dans l'industrie du cinéma avec un autre vidéofilm Without Malice, avec Jennifer Beals et Craig Sheffer. Il passe du temps en désintoxication : « J'ai commencé par les tranquillisants, car j'étais une boule de nerfs. Mais un mène à deux, deux à quatre, quatre à huit, jusqu'à ce qu'à la fin, j'en prenne 85 par jour — les médecins n'arrivaient pas à croire que j'en ai pris autant. Et encore, c'était juste pour le Valium — je n'ai pas parlé des autres pilules que j'avalais ».

En 2001, il apparaît dans The Backlot Murders au côté de Priscilla Barnes. Il devient le sujet de E! True Hollywood Story. Il fait un caméo dans Dickie Roberts: ex-enfant star, un film sur un enfant acteur qui n'a pas vécu une enfance normale, il y distingue plusieurs enfants-stars, dont Corey Feldman.

En 2002, il joue son propre rôle dans un épisode de la série télévisée canadienne Le Loup-garou du campus.

En 2004, il semble avoir surmonté son problème de drogue après avoir emménagé à Toronto. En réponse à une enquête du journal The Sun sur ce qui lui était vraiment arrivé : « Je suis propre, sobre, humble et heureux ».

En 2006, il est classé huitième des plus grandes stars pour adolescents sur VH1.

Retour à la Télé-Réalité

Le 4 décembre 2006, Corey Haim commence l'enregistrement d'une émission de téléréalité, intitulée The Two Coreys, dont il partage la vedette avec Corey Feldman. L'émission est diffusée pour la première fois sur A&E Network le 29 juillet 2007. Les deux Coreys signent pour une deuxième saison, dont la diffusion commence le 22 juin 2008. Il est nommé pour le prix des téléspectateurs aux Annual Gemini Awards au Canada pour son rôle dans The Two Coreys. Il est huitième dans la catégorie « canadien préféré » dans une série TV (non éligible pour un Gemini) pour son rôle dans le show de A&E.

Le 7 février 2008, il paye une annonce dans le magazine Variety, disant que « Ce n'est pas une blague. Je suis de retour. Je suis prêt à travailler. Je suis prêt à m'amender ». Le même mois, on[Qui ?] recommence à filmer certaines scènes de Génération Perdue 2 (Lost Boys: The Tribe) pour l'inclure, reprenant son rôle de Sam Emerson. Il revient sur sa décision de ne pas apparaître dans une suite. Il n'apparaît pas dans le scénario de Génération Perdue 2 jusqu'au générique de fin. Ses apparitions sont visibles uniquement dans les « scènes supprimée » du DVD.

Avant que le futur de The Two Coreys ne soit connu, Corey Feldman déclare qu'il refuse d'avoir d'autres contacts avec Corey Haim tant que ce dernier ne se serait pas débarrassé de son penchant pour les drogues. A & E se prononça contre une troisième saison et met un terme à l'émission en juillet 2008.

En 2009, il apparaît dans le film d'action Hyper Tension 2 (Crank 2: High Voltage) de Mark Neveldine et Brian Taylor.

Corey Haim

Décès

Le 10 mars 2010, à l'âge de 38 ans, Corey Haim meurt à Burbank.

Selon Szilva Vecserdy, les médias ont tenu des propos injustes et faux sur l'acteur. Il n'est pas mort d'une overdose, mais bien d'une pneumonie et d'une hypertrophie du cœur. Selon Corey Feldman, la dépendance de la drogue de son ami était due aux agressions pédophiles qu'il avait subies durant son enfance.

bottom of page